The Flag of Wales

Carmarthenshire’s councillor responsible for the Welsh language has congratulated the county’s National Eisteddfod winners.

The 2016 National Eisteddfod in Abergavenny has seen competitors living in or brought up in Carmarthenshire take major prizes.

Aneirin Karadog, winner of the Chair, is a resident of Pontyberem, while Elinor Gwynn, winner of the Crown, was brought up in Carmarthen and educated locally.

Eurig Salisbury, winner of the Literary Medal, was brought up in Llangynog and attended Ysgol y Dderwen and Ysgol Bro Myrddin, while Hefin Robinson, winner of the Drama Medal, was brought up in Llangynnwr and attended Ysgol y Dderwen and Ysgol Bro Myrddin.

County Council executive board member for the Welsh language Cllr Mair Stephens said: “I’m delighted that Eisteddfod competitors with such strong Carmarthenshire connections have done so well. I’d like to congratulate them, and all other competitors, on their achievements.”

Can YOU Help?

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading the West Wales Chronicle than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. And unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. So you can see why we need to ask for your help. The West Wales Chronicle’s independent, investigative journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we believe our perspective matters – because it might well be your perspective, too.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as £1, you can support the Chronicle – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.